Narvskaya

  • This station in Internet: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Opened: November 15, 1955
  • Station depth: 52 meters
  • Project title: Stachek (Strike) Square
  • Type of station: pylon
  • Entrance to the station: from the ground pavilion
  • Traffic: about 1.2 million people per month

Narvskaya metro station is the first and only one in Leningrad that has a track development (a turnaround dead end), but which is not the final one and does not have a transfer to another line. Nowadays, this revolving dead end in the southern neck of the station has become the starting point of the connecting branch to the station Putilovskaya (under construction) 6th Brown Line. It is also assumed that in the future the station "Narvskaya" will become an interchange on the Ring line 7 (projected).

In the initial period of the development of the Leningrad metro, it was supposed to direct part of the trains from the center only to the Narvskaya station, because there were no such densely populated residential areas on the outskirts yet. At a number of stations, light boards hung above the platforms with the inscription "The train goes to the station", where the Narvskaya station was listed among the possible end stations. Now the reverse dead end "Narvskoy" is used very rarely, trains enter it only at night parking.

The station is named after its location - near the former Narva outpost, right next to the Narva Triumphal Gate. It is certainly one of the top 10 most beautiful stations in Saint-Petersburg and is also the most "Stalinist" of all, which even gave rise to a legend about its supposedly project name - "Stalinskaya". The documents firmly refute this legend, this version was not even considered, but people like to tell each other tall tales :)

The theme of the station's design is the labor valor of the Soviet people. The side walls of the pylons of the central underground hall are decorated with high reliefs depicting people of different professions. In total, there are 48 panels with 12 recurring plots, among which you can even find the architects themselves who built this station ;)

Let's list it.

The first high relief to the right of the entrance to the station depicts builders - two men and a woman, with a man holding a mock-up of the Narvskaya station lobby in his hands. These are architects Goldgor, Speransky (with a mock-up in his hands) and engineer Ivanova (photo on the left). But the casters on the neighboring high relief look no less cool (photo on the right).

Shipbuilders (left) and doctors (right) are not forgotten either.

And the sailors and soldiers were not forgotten. Sailors in the photo on the left, Soviet soldiers, defenders of the Fatherland in the photo on the right.

There are even breeders (pictured left) and artists (right).

Schoolchildren (schoolgirls) in the photo on the left, textile workers in the photo on the right.

Well, there were collective farmers on the left, and metro builders on the right.

The track walls and pylons are lined with white marble. The floor of the central hall is lined with red granite and framed with black and white ornaments. The floor on the side platforms was also once asphalt, but replaced with gray granite. There are very beautiful chandeliers and doors in the track wall.

There are also a great many small details at this station with very great attention to detail. Take at least the metal flowers at the ends of the benches. They did not save on aesthetics under Stalin.

The station has very beautiful lighting, no matter what angle you look at.

An inclined passage with three escalators is located at the northern end of the station. Hermetic door - type "guillotine". At the end of 2000, there was an attempt to replace escalators with new ones of a different design, with the installation of four escalators instead of the current three, but modern engineers are unable to create a reliable design, the expertise is lost. So there are only three escalators left.

Speaking of the escalator. If you go upstairs, you can see a very interesting pavilion of the station and also with a bunch of small interesting details.

During the day, the station pavilion is slightly lost against the background of the surrounding buildings and especially the Narva Gate itself, but at night it stands out brightly with illumination.

Unlike many other metro stations, history has preserved for us photos of this place in different periods of time. Without being distracted by the Narva Gate itself, and this is a separate story of the border of Saint-Petersburg in 1814, just look at the place of the future metro station.

Here are pictures of the early 1920s and 1931, respectively. It is clearly visible that at the site of the future metro station there is first an incomprehensible small hut, and later a large beautiful square. In the middle and right photo, this is the square on the left side of the frame, to the left of the Narva Gate.

Then, in the already post-war pictures, the station lobby appears and begins to grow on the site of the square.

It's great that we can look through the eyes of our ancestors differently at what is familiar to us from birth and what we often do not notice at all.

But back to the lobby. The wall of the cash register was supposed to be decorated with a quote from Stalin, which is incredibly relevant today:

It is possible that Russia will be the country paving the way to socialism… It is necessary to discard the outdated idea that only Europe can show us the way.

But, alas, Khrushchev's obscurantism deprived us of this quote. You see, and Nazi Ukraine would not have happened. A sad joke.

As already shown in the photos above, there are many beautiful details in the lobby. But the central place is occupied by the panel "Glory to labor!" above the escalator.

According to the original plan, Stalin himself should have been in the center of the composition (photo on the left). But since it was necessary to get rid of Stalin urgently for the sake of the new conjuncture, a worker with a flag was stuck in the center of the composition instead of Stalin (photo on the right). And in order not to offend the Great Helmsman too much, the worker was moved one step back. Therefore, a physically felt void appeared in the center of the panel.

As at all stations of the first stage of the Leningrad metro, when the escalator exits to the surface, the escalator handrails here move not along a smooth curve, but along a two-step polyline.

However, let's go back down. There, in the main hall, Stalin was also not forgotten.

At the end of the main hall there was originally a panel "Stalin on the podium", made on the basis of the painting of the same name. And, interestingly, Stalin is on the panel with a book (photo on the left), and in the original painting with a glass (on the right). Obviously, with the death of the Great Helmsman, the problem of alcoholism began to progress rapidly and cause corresponding deviations of perception.

But in 1961, after the XXII Congress of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, the panel was fenced off from the central hall by a smooth marble wall. Behind this wall, a meeting room was placed, and then a linear point for instructing and resting the drivers of the metrodepot "Avtovo".

The panel itself was destroyed by jackhammers and simply thrown away. Several fragments of it can be seen today in the interactive history center of the metro at the metro station Приморскаяru.

In general, it is a very beautiful, worthy and well-deserved station.

Нарвская

  • Эта станция в Сети: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Открыта: 15 ноября 1955 года
  • Глубина: 52 метра
  • Проектное название: Площадь Стачек
  • Тип станции: пилонная
  • Вход на станцию: из наземного павильона
  • Траффик: порядка 1,2 млн человек в месяц

Станция метро "Нарвская" - первая и единственная в Ленинграде, у которой есть путевое развитие (оборотный тупик), но которая не является конечной и не имеет пересадки на другую линию. В наши дни этот оборотный тупик в южной горловине станции стал стартовой точкой соединительной ветви на станцию Путиловская (строится) 6я Коричневая линия. Также предполагается, что в будушем станция "Нарвская" станет пересадочной на 7ю Кольцевую линию (проектируется).

В начальный период развития метро Ленинграда предполагалось часть поездов из центра направлять только до Нарвской, т.к. на окраинах ещё не было таких густонаселённых жилых районов. На ряде станций над платформами висели световые табло с надписью "Поезд следует до станции", где среди возможных конечных станций перечислялась и станция "Нарвская". Сейчас оборотный тупик "Нарвской" используется очень редко, поезда в него заходят только на ночной отстой.

Станция названа по расположению - вблизи бывшей Нарвской заставы, прямо возле Нарвских триумфальных ворот. Она безусловно входит в топ-10 самых красивых станций Петербурга и по совместительству является самой "Сталинской" из всех, что даже породило легенду о её якобы проектном названии - "Сталинская". Документы эту легенду прочно опровергают, такая версия даже не рассматривалась, но народ так любит рассказывать друг другу небылицы :)

Тема оформления станции — трудовая доблесть советского народа. Боковые стены пилонов центрального подземного зала украшают горельефы, изображающие людей разных профессий. Всего там 48 панно с 12 повторяющимися сюжетами, среди которых затесались даже сами архитекторы, строившие эту станцию ;)

Давайте перечислим.

Первый справа от входа на станцию горельеф изображает строителей - двое мужчин и женщина, причем мужчина держит в руках макет вестибюля станции "Нарвская". Это - архитекторы Гольдгор, Сперанский (с макетом в руках) и инженер Иванова (фото слева). Но не менее круто выглядят и литейщики (фото справа).

Не забыты и кораблестроители (слева) с врачами (справа).

И моряков с солдатами не забыли. Моряки на фото слева, советские воины, защитники Отечества на фото справа.

Есть даже селекционеры (на фото слева) и деятели искусств (справа).

Школьники (школьницы) на фото слева, текстильщицы на фото справа.

Ну и остались колхозники слева, да метростроевцы справа.

Путевые стены и пилоны облицованы белым мрамором. Пол центрального зала выложен красным гранитом и обрамлён черно-белым орнаментом. Пол на боковых платформах тоже когда-то был асфальтовым, но заменён на серый гранит. Здесь очень красивые люстры и двери в путевой стене.

На этой станции тоже великое множество мелких деталей с очень большим вниманием к мелочам. Взять хотя бы металлические цветы в торцах скамеек. Не экономили при Сталине на эстетике.

На станции очень красивое освещение, под каким углом ни смотри.

Наклонный ход с тремя эскалаторами расположен с северного торца станции. Гермодверь - типа "гильотина". В конце нулевых годов была попытка заменить эскалаторы на новые, другой конструкции, с установкой четырёх эскалаторов вместо нынешних трёх, но надежную конструкцию современные инженеры создать не в состоянии, экспертиза утеряна. Так и осталось эскалаторов только три.

К слову об эскалаторе. Если подняться наверх, то можно увидеть очень интересный павильон станции и тоже с кучей мелких интересных деталей.

Днем павильон станции немного теряется на фоне окружающих зданий и особенно самих Нарвских ворот, зато ночью с подсветкой ярко выделяется.

В отличие от многих других станций метро, история сохранила для нас фотографии этого места в разные периоды времени. Не отвлекаясь на сами Нарвские ворота, а это прям отдельная история границы Петербурга в 1814 году, просто посмотрим на место будущей станции метро.

Вот снимки начала 1920х и 1931 года соответственно. Хорошо видно, что на месте будущей станции метро красуется сначала непонятная маленькая избушка, а позже - большой красивый сквер. На среднем и правом фото это сквер в левой части кадра, слева от Нарвских ворот.

Затем, на уже послевоенных снимках, на месте сквера появляется и начинает расти станционный вестибюль.

Очень здорово, что можно глазами наших предков иначе взглянуть на то, что знакомо нам с рождения и чего мы часто вообще не замечаем.

Но вернемся в вестибюль. Стену кассового зала должна была украшать цитата Сталина, невероятно актуальная и сегодня:

Не исключена возможность, что именно Россия явится страной, пролагающей путь к социализму… Надо откинуть отжившее представление о том, что только Европа может указывать нам путь.

Но, увы, мракобесие Хрущёва лишило нас этой цитаты. Глядишь, и бандеровской Украины не случилось бы. Грустная шутка.

Как уже было показано на фотографиях выше, в вестибюле много красивых деталей. Но центральное место занимает панно "Слава труду!" над эскалатором.

По первоначальному замыслу, в центре композиции должен был быть сам Сталин (фото слева). Но поскольку от Сталина надо было срочно избавляться в угоду новой конъюнктуре, в центр композиции вместо Сталина воткнули рабочего с флагом (фото справа). А дабы не слишком обижать Великого Кормчего, рабочего сдвинули на одну ступеньку назад. Поэтому в центре панно возникла физически ощущаемая пустота.

Как и на всех станциях первой очереди метро Ленинграда, при выходе эскалатора на поверхность поручни эскалатора здесь движутся не по гладкой кривой, а по двух-ступенчатой ломаной.

Однако вернёмся вниз. Там, в главном зале, про Сталина тоже не забыли.

Видите суслика? А он есть! (с)

В торце главного зала изначально располагалось панно "Сталин на трибуне", сделанное на основе одноимённой картины. Причём, что интересно, на панно Сталин с книгой (фото слева), а на оригинальной картине со стаканом (справа). Очевидно, с уходом Великого Кормчего проблема алкоголизма стала быстро прогрессировать и вызывать соответствующие девиации восприятия.

Но в 1961 году, после XXII съезда КПСС панно было отгорожено от центрального зала гладкой мраморной стеной. За этой стеной разместили зал заседаний, а потом линейный пункт для инструктажа и отдыха машинистов метродепо "Автово".

Само же панно было разрушено отбойными молотками и попросту выброшено. Несколько его фрагментов можно видеть сегодня в интерактивном центре истории метрополитена на станции метро Приморская.

В общем и целом - очень красивая, достойная и заслуженная станция.