Volkovskaya

  • This station in Internet: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Opened: December 20, 2008
  • Station depth: 61 meters
  • Project title: Volkovskaya
  • Popular names: Volk (wolf), Volkusha, Cemetery
  • Type of station: pylon
  • Entrance to the station: lobby in the shopping center building
  • Traffic: about 172 thousand people per month

The name of the station Volkovskaya (i.e. "wolf place") owes its name to the area in which it was built. Now it is practically the geometric center of Saint-Petersburg. However, this place is extremely difficult in many senses.

Upstairs above the station you can find the Volkovskaya railway station, the Volkovskoye cemetery, the Volkovka River and a gloomy industrial zone with almost no human habitation. Passenger traffic at this station is smallest in Saint-Petersburg. The river and the cemetery got their name from the village of Volkovka (before that, this river was also called the Black River because of the color of the water and soil). A rare case, because usually on the contrary villages are called by the name of the river.

The village, originally Finno-Ugric, bore the name "wolf", "wolf's place" in Swedish and Finnish. Even in the 18th century, attacks of wolf packs on people were documented here. Accordingly, the village was renamed from Finnish to Russian while retaining the same name. This moment is reflected in the wonderful stained glass window of the entrance lobby of the station. However, it is normally visible only during the day, at daylight. The lobby itself is located on the first floor of the shopping center. It is unclear for whom it was built - there is practically no housing here.

However, this is not the end of Volkovskaya's gloom.

The place where the Volkovka River flows into the Bypass Canal today has always been considered bad, cursed. In 1833, there was even a riot at the construction of the Bypass Canal here, the workers refused to continue construction. There is a whole detective story about the murders and mass suicides taking place here in the third year of each decade (recorded in 1913, 1923, 1933). It is claimed that the case is in the ancient Karelian temples ruined by the Swedes back in 1300, granite slabs and burials of which were discovered during the laying of the heating main in 1923. In general, a gloomy place. And it's not for nothing that the decorative panels in the station hall reflect this gloomy wilderness.

The panels, I must say, perfectly convey the spirit and style of this place.

This is where the most wonderful cat lives, which you definitely need to pet :) Of course, the owl is also beautiful, but the cat is above all praise ;)

To reduce the cost, the station, originally conceived as a single-arched, and then a column, was made a pylon. Also, to reduce the cost, the station is finished with metal-plastic panels. It was claimed that this is to improve vandal-proof properties, but for me, metal plastic is useless here. The floor is lined with black granite with white stripes, with a pattern of squares and rectangles, as if directing the flow of passengers.

The doors in the track walls are almost invisible here.

The lighting is mostly behind the curtain, except for the passages between the pylons.

In general, it turned out quite organic and pretty.

In the period from 2008 to 2012, the station was the terminus, and reverse dead ends were actively used on it.

Now the line has been extended to the south, and the reverse dead ends are used as a maintenance point.

In order to get on the escalator, you need to climb the stairs above the hall.

There is a hermetic door located here, it is difficult to determine what type - a vertical "guillotine" or a horizontal "wardrobe". Based on the structure of the portal, rather the first option.

The station is served by 4 escalators.

Initially, there were pole lamps on the escalators, now they have been replaced with torches. I have old photos of these columns somewhere, but of very poor quality, alas.

Let's go back to the station hall.

Everything is strict here. Keep to the right side!

When you are here, be sure to stroke the cat ;)

Another life hack is that this is probably the metro station itself close to the city center, to which you can relatively safely drive from the suburbs by car even during rush hour and always find a free parking space.

Nice station. Authentic.

Волковская

  • Эта станция в Сети: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Открыта: 20 декабря 2008 года
  • Глубина: 61 метр
  • Проектное название: Волковская
  • Народные названия: Волк, Волкуша, Кладбище
  • Тип станции: пилонная
  • Вход на станцию: вестибюль в здании торгового центра
  • Траффик: порядка 172 тыс человек в месяц

Названием своим станция Волковская (т.е. "волчье место") обязана району, в котором построена. Сейчас это практически геометрический центр Петербурга. Однако место это во многих смыслах крайне непростое.

Наверху над станцией можно найти железнодорожную станцию Волковская, Волковское кладбище, реку Волковку и мрачную промышленную зону практически без человеческого жилья. Пассажиропоток на этой станции - самый маленький в Петербурге. Река и кладбище получили своё название от деревни Волковки (до того эту реку также называли Чёрной речкой из-за цвета воды и почвы). Редкий случай, потому что обычно наоборот деревни называют по имени реки.

Деревня, изначально - финно-угорская, носила на шведском и финском языках название "волк", "волчье место". Даже в 18 веке здесь задокументированы нападения волчьих стай на людей. Соответственно, деревню переименовали с финского на русский с сохранением того же самого названия. Этот момент отражён в замечательном витраже входного вестибюля станции. Правда, нормально видно его только днём, на просвет. Сам же вестибюль находится на первом этаже торгового центра. Неясно, для кого он построен - здесь практически нет жилья.

Однако, на этом мрачность Волковской не исчерпывается.

Место, где сегодня река Волковка вливается в Обводный канал, всегда считалось плохим, проклятым. В 1833 году здесь на строительстве Обводного канала даже случился бунт, рабочие отказывались продолжать стройку. Есть целая детективная история о происходящих здесь убийствах и массовых самоубийствах на третий год каждого десятилетия (зафиксировано в 1913, 1923, 1933 годах). Утверждается, что дело в разорённых шведами еще в 1300 году древних карельских капищах, гранитные плиты и захоронения которых были обнаружены при прокладке теплотрассы в 1923 году. В общем, сумрачное место. И не зря декоративные панно в станционном зале отражают эту вот мрачную глухомань.

Панно, надо сказать, прекрасно передают дух и стиль этого места.

Здесь и живёт тот самый замечательный кот, которого обязательно нужно погладить :) Сова конечно тоже прекрасна, но кот выше всяческих похвал ;)

Для удешевления станцию, изначально задуманную как односводную, а затем колонную, сделали пилонной. Также для удешевления стация отделана металлопластиковыми панелями. Утверждалось, что это для улучшения антивандальных свойств, но по мне так металлопластик тут бесполезен. Пол выложен чёрным гранитом с белыми полосами, с узором из квадратов и прямоугольников, как бы направляющим потоки пассажиров.

Двери в путевых стенах здесь почти незаметны.

Освещение в основном закарнизное, кроме проходов между пилонами.

В целом получилось достаточно органично и симпатично.

В период с 2008 до 2012 года станция была конечной, и на ней активно использовались оборотные тупики.

Сейчас линия продлена на юг, и оборотные тупики используются как пункт технического обслуживания.

Для того, чтобы попасть на эскалатор, нужно подняться над залом по лестнице.

Здесь расположена гермодверь, трудно определить какого типа - вертикальная "гильотина" или горизонтальная "шкаф-купе". Исходя из строения портала, скорее первый вариант.

Станцию обслуживают 4 эскалатора.

Изначально на эскалаторах стояли светильники - столбики, сейчас их заменили на факелы. У меня где-то есть старые фото этих столбиков, но очень плохого качества, увы.

Пойдём обратно в зал.

Тут всё строго. Держитесь правой стороны!

Когда будете здесь - обязательно погладьте кота ;)

Ещё один лайфхак состоит в том, что это наверное сама близкая к центру города станция метро, до которой можно относительно спокойно доехать из загорода на машине даже в час пик и всегда найти бесплатное место для парковки.

Хорошая станция. Аутентичная.