Baltiyskaya

  • This station in Internet: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Opened: November 15, 1955
  • Station depth: 40 meters (according to other sources - 57 meters)
  • Project title: Baltic Railway Station
  • Popular names: Bolty (bolts)
  • Type of station: three-vaulted column
  • Entrance to the station: from the ground pavilion
  • Traffic: about 1,1 million people per month

At the time of construction, it was the only metro station in Leningrad with two stations at once, Baltiysky and Varshavsky. It was announced on the trains - "the next station is Baltiyskaya, Baltiysky and Varshavsky railway stations". Today, the Warsaw railway Station has been completely dismantled and turned into a shopping center, and this status of the station has been lost.

One of the most modest stations of the first stage of the Leningrad metro. An interesting feature is that all the lighting of the station is built on reflected light, you can see the lamps themselves only if you try very hard. But 1200 lamps have been installed at the station, for a second.

The station got its name because of its location actually at the Baltic railway Station. If you go upstairs...

Oh, by the way. The hermetic door here is a lifting one, such as a "toilet lid" (photo on the left). And the handrails of the escalator when going up here also follow a broken line, not a curve. As at all stations of the first stage of the Leningrad metro. So, if you go upstairs...

Then you can see that the station building is directly attached to the eastern wing of the Baltic station. Below you can see the Baltic railway station long before the construction of the metro, even before the revolution...

...and here is the same station today, with the metro station building attached to the left. By the way, the photo on the right behind the station shows the Museum of Railways of Russia on the site of the former freight yard of the Baltic railway station. I strongly recommend it!

The station lobby looks much richer than the station itself below. Bas-reliefs of famous Russian admirals - Ushakov, Lazarev, Kornilov, Nakhimov and Makarov - are perched right above the entrance.

Inside, though unexpectedly cramped, but beautiful. I remember how in Soviet times a frenzied stream of people from the morning commuter trains choked here, trying to get into the subway all at once. At that time, this station had the largest passenger traffic in Leningrad - 6 million people per month, because all communication with the southern and south-western suburbs of Leningrad took place via commuter trains from this station. And in the morning all these crowds of people went to work and study, and in the evening - back. I've had a lot of riding and running around here myself once.

But a very convenient exit was made from the escalator hall directly inside the station. When you rush up the escalator three steps later, being late for your train, this is very useful ;)

The ceilings in different halls here are made completely differently. A gloomy order with flags is placed above the escalator (photo on the right).

But let's go back down.

The underground hall is lined with bluish-gray marble, symbolizing the waters of the Baltic. The same is said about the technological doors in the track walls, decorated with anchors.

At the end of the station hall there is a mosaic "1917". As usual, there are revolutionary sailors of the Baltic, together with workers and soldiers going to storm the Winter Palace, and in the background the silhouette of the cruiser Aurora. Sure. At first they wanted to put Stalin here too, but then they refused.

A beautiful panel, by the way. I've always liked it, and it doesn't attract attention. The tones are calm. The construction of a second exit to the surface from this side is expected, and the safety of this panel causes me great concern. I have little idea how it can be carefully removed one stone at a time from this wall and mounted into some other.

In general, the whole station is very calm in perception. Such a labor, work station.

Well, before you go further - a couple of details at last:

Балтийская

  • Эта станция в Сети: Wikipedia, Wikimapia
  • Открыта: 15 ноября 1955 года
  • Глубина: 40 метров (по другим данным - 57 метров)
  • Проектное название: Балтийский вокзал
  • Народные названия: Болты
  • Тип станции: колонная трёхсводчатая
  • Вход на станцию: из наземного павильона
  • Траффик: порядка 1,1 млн человек в месяц

На момент постройки - единственная в Ленинграде станция метро сразу двух вокзалов, Балтийского и Варшавского. В поездах так и объявляли - "следующая станция Балтийская, Балтийский и Варшавский вокзалы". Сегодня Варшавский вокзал полностью демонтирован и превратился просто в торговый центр, и этот статус станции утрачен.

Одна из самых скромных станций первой очереди метро Ленинграда. Интересная особенность - всё освещение станции построено на отражённом свете, увидеть сами светильники можно только если очень постараться. А ведь на станции смонтировано, на секундочку, 1200 ламп.

Название станция получила из-за расположения фактически на Балтийском вокзале. Если подняться наверх...

Да, кстати. Гермодверь здесь - подъемная, типа "крышка унитаза" (фото слева). И поручни эскалатора при выходе наверх здесь тоже идут по ломаной линии, а не по кривой. Как и на всех станциях первой очереди метро Ленинграда. Так вот, если подняться наверх...

То можно видеть, что здание станции прямо пристроено к восточному флигелю Балтийского вокзала. Вот ниже можно видеть Балтийский вокзал ещё задолго до постройки метро, даже до революции...

...а вот этот же вокзал сегодня, с пристроенным слева зданием станции метро. Кстати, на фото справа за вокзалом виден музей железных дорог России на месте бывшего грузового двора Балтийского вокзала. Категорически рекомендую!

Вестибюль станции выглядит намного богаче, чем сама станция внизу. Прямо над входом примостились барельефы знаменитых российских адмиралов - Ушаков, Лазарев, Корнилов, Нахимов и Макаров.

Внутри хотя и неожиданно тесно, но красиво. Помню, как во времена СССР бешеный поток людей из утренних электричек давился тут, пытясь войти в метро все и сразу. В те времена на этой станции был самый большой пассажиропоток в Ленинграде - 6 миллионов человек в месяц, т.к. всё сообщение с южными и юго-западными пригородами Ленинграда происходило посредством электричек именно с этого вокзала. И утром все эти толпы людей ехали на работу и учёбу, а вечером - обратно. Я и сам вдоволь тут наездился и набегался когда-то.

Зато из эскалаторного зала был сделан очень удобный выход прямо внутрь вокзала. Когда несёшься вверх по эскалатору через три ступеньки, опаздывая на свою электричку, это очень кстати ;)

Потолки в разных залах тут сделаны совершенно по-разному. Над эскалатором размещён мрачный орден с флагами (фото справа).

Но вернёмся вниз.

Подземный зал облицован голубовато-серым мрамором, символизирующим воды Балтики. О том же говорят и технологические двери в путевых стенах, украшенные якорями.

В торце зала станции располагается мозаика "1917 год". Как водится, тут и революционные моряки Балтики, вместе с рабочими и солдатами идущие на штурм Зимнего дворца, и на заднем плане силуэт крейсера «Аврора». Конечно. Хотели сначала и сюда засунуть Сталина тоже, но потом таки отказались.

Красивое панно, кстати. Мне всегда нравилось, и при этом внимание не привлекает. Тона спокойные. Ожидается постройка второго выхода на поверхность с этой стороны, и сохранность этого панно вызывает у меня большую тревогу. Я слабо представляю, как его можно аккуратно извлечь по камушку из этой стены и вмонтировать в какую-либо другую.

Вообще вся станция по восприятию очень спокойная. Рабочая такая трудяга.

Ну и прежде чем поехать дальше - пара деталей напоследок: